This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Federal Government Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Federal Government Information  

Last Updated: Nov 21, 2014 URL: http://clinton.libguides.com/fedgovdocs Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Uncle Sam's Reference Shelf

Budget of the United States Government. This report contains the budget message of the president, information on the president's budget and management priorities, as well as receipts, outlays and analysis of federal spending.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance. Federal grants-in-aid.

CIA World Factbook. A one-stop source for basic data on foreign nations.

Condition of Education. Provides information on the status and condition of education in the United States.

Congressional Directory. Brief biographies and committee assignments of Congressmen and Senators.

Dictionary of Occupational Titles. The DOT provides basic occupational information, including titles and definitions for a myriad of jobs. O*NET replaces the DOT.

Economic Report of the President. Yearly report on the health of the nation's economy.

Federal Digital System (FDsys)  FDsys is the federal government's "next generation of government information online," which replaces the GPO Access site after 15 years.  FDsys allows users to browse and search for official documents and publications from all three branches of government, and download them in a variety of file formats. 

Library of Congress (LOC) The Library of Congress was first established in 1880 to serve as a reference library for Congress when our capitol was moved to Washington, D.C.  Today it has become the world's largest library with over 144 million items in over 450 different languages. 

Occupational Outlook Handbook. Provides essential career information.

Occupational Outlook Quarterly. Provides practical information on jobs and careers.

O*NET. This is a comprehensive database of worker attributes and job characteristics. Replaces the Dictionary of Occupational Titles,

North America Industry Classification System NAICS provides common industry definitions for Canada, Mexico, and the U.S.

Standard Industrial Classification Search SIC manual by keyword, to access descriptive information for a specified 4-digit SIC.

THOMAS - Legislative information can be searched and located in this publicly accessible database named in honor of Thomas Jefferson.  THOMAS contains bill statuses, public laws, House and Senate roll call votes, full text of the Congressional Record and much more.

U.S. Government Manual Provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches

U.S. Immigration Handbook This comprehensive guide contains practical information to help you settle into everyday life in the United States.

U.S. Postal Service Zip Code Directory. Can search for zip codes throughout the United States.

 

Research Help

Chat with a Librarian

Ask Us 24/7 Chat Reference Logo

Research help is available through online chat 24 hrs/day, 7 days/week.

 

Acknowledgment

Guide created by Douglas Library librarian, Jill Tarabula.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip